Views from the [Black] DPT Student

imagesPPBWYJT7

“If you build it, they will won’t come.”

Walking to lab every day, I pass the class pictures of the previous Physical therapy students who have since graduated. Every other year, there is one or two black students surrounded by white faces. It’s a bitter sweet feeling because I am making history yet it is history repeating itself. You don’t really see many African Americans graduating from P.T. programs at HBCUs. Somehow, white students have become the minority but still outnumber the black students in the class. I really do not get it!

PT-Grads-Bannersmall

It’s disappointing that these black establishments cannot provide their children with a home to call their own. So now I feel empowered that I am attending and taking over an HWCU (and no the “W” does not stand for wonderful). Every May, I tune into WHUT to watch the graduating class at Howard University in Washington, D.C. I always cry tears of joy when I see the graduating nurses, dentists, doctors, pharmacists and of course physical therapists of color. It feels so good….spectacular….marvelous to know that I am not alone.

I cry because I know how hard they fought to be there. I can FEEL it because I am living it! I know the struggle first hand of what it is like to be black trying so damn hard to better yourself. Nobody said that it would be easy but it is definitely possible. #BeGreat #UpliftandEmpowerSomeoneToday

Graduation-Gap_2

Views from the [Black] DPT Student

4 thoughts on “Views from the [Black] DPT Student

Leave a Reply

